Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have problem starting my 2000 F 450 unless it is pluged up. Have changed the glow plugs and the controller. They work like they are suppose too. Have also installed an LED in the cab to indicate that they are on. The engine runs fine down the road and pulls great, but just won't start when it cool or cold. The only way to start it is to use gas on a rag or either if not able to plug it up. Then it runs real rough until it warms up.

This started all at one time and I haven't found the problem yet.
Note: I have a superchip in it , and have reverted back to the original setting and still the same thing. Could it be the O-Rings on the Injectors or the High Pressure pump. This has me dumbfounded. I am a mechanic by trade but have little knowledge of the 7.3

·
Other vehicle is an F250
18,320 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would like to find the answer. My baby brother has a shop of his own and he has the same problem with two 7.3

·
Registered
76 Posts
Dis you check the glow plug relay , or is that what you meant by the controller?

·
Premium Member
613 Posts
Being that it's only a cold weather issue only makes me think it still could be a glow plug issue. 7.3 have problems sometimes with the under valve cover wiring. Have you checked to see if the power is getting to the glow plugs.
I would take a ohmmeter and read the connectors at the valve covers.
I also would check the oil level in the High pressure pump, it should be about an inch to 3/4's of an inch of the top thats probably not the problem but it's easy to check.

Hope this helps

Jim

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7