Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a welder and fabricator, have acess to a lift, I want to gut the factory muffler.:dunno: Want to keep a stock appearing exhaust till I order a 4" or 5". Just looking to free it up some and make it louder.:thumb: Especially louder, will it help?

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Why not just weld a piece of pipe in place of the muffler? It will most likely cause more restriction, and sound a little funny if you gut it.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
O.K., I can do that too, will it make it louder?

·
Registered
929 Posts
u will get some more sound and whistle. but u need to get that cat out of there. then it will scream

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Yeah, that too. The cat quiets it down more than the muffler.

·
Registered
929 Posts
:ORG welcome: bud, your not to far away from me. im in chatham county

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If I delete the cat and the muffler will it throw a code or anything?

I got a buddy that lives in Chatam, Tony (can't remeber his last name) He and his dad run a forklift rental place or something.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I didn't see any sensors at all going into the cat, and none before it.

·
Registered
46 Posts
deleting the cat and muffler is basically the same thing as putting on a full exhaust system (as far as taking the cat and stock muffler out of the equation), there are no sensors running into the cat / muffler, you should be fine to delete them.... and the whistle is mint :D

·
Ole White
5,253 Posts
You can remove both and it will sound awesome and have a little more power to. No codes will be thrown.

WELCOME TO ORG! ! !

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #11