Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, ok try to make this short. Current truck details are in my sig. Ficm tuner is in the mail from PHP. Only have a 48v ficm though. Long term plan for my truck, I want to make upwards of 600hp, hopefully closer to 700. My plan for that goes something like this:

MTW stage 2
190cc injectors
Airdog 150 w/ RR
Dual hpop
Tranny upgrades

So I have 2 questions.
1. What are the tranny upgrades I'll need to be safe up to 700+ hp? I have next to no knowledge of transmissions.
2. What else am I missing?? Do I need an intercooler? What else??

Thanks in advance for your opinions! :)

·
Registered
2,206 Posts
Im no expert but I think the MTW stage 3 just put over 600hp (638 or something iirc) with it, so you will at least need the stage 3 and probably 190/100 sticks. As far as I know the dual hpop would be unnecessary. May not need the tranny right away if you dont abuse it, but with that kinda power a built tranny will have to happen eventually.

·
Premium Member
1,511 Posts
Hey guys, ok try to make this short. Current truck details are in my sig. Ficm tuner is in the mail from PHP. Only have a 48v ficm though. Long term plan for my truck, I want to make upwards of 600hp, hopefully closer to 700. My plan for that goes something like this:

If you want closer to 700rwhp, then you need atleast a stage 3. Stage 3 with 190/100 has made 650rwhp, I will be running 205/150 so you'll be able to see what that will make.(my guess 680-690rwhp) Of course you will need transmission then for sure and a true locker for rear. The truck will be able to be a daily driver but it will be a handfull. Any wet roads and you might as well consider the roads solid ice, on freeways at 70mph you will need to roll into it a fast stab to floor and you will be going sideways. With our diesel trucks it's not so much the horsepower that gets you in trouble, it's the torque.