Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie here and to diesel tech in general. I now have a 2000 F-350 7.3L that I acquired to pull a race car with. This weekend I was driving it and it started blowing fuel from underneath it and completely dumped a bunch of fuel somewhere from around the back of the engine area when I pulled over. My dad says he had a similar issue on his '07 F-250 7.3 and it turned out to be a lift pump.

I've looked and looked for info about a lift pump on the 2000 model and finding very little info. But I find lots of info about the fuel pump. Does anyone know where the location of the lift pump is on my 2000 model? Does that sound like the likely problem? Could it be the fuel pump instead?

I can find tons of stuff on fuel pumps and how to change them on YouTube and all over, but nothing that tells me where the lift pump is on the 2000 and how to change it out. Would appreciate any input.

·
Registered
740 Posts
Drivers side mounted in/on the frame. Lay down under the truck and look up.

·
Registered
43 Posts
If its coming from the back of the engine I would start by looking up top in the engine valley and see if you have a fuel leak up there thats draining down the back of the engine and to the ground as its designed to do via the drain hole. There are a couple places for a fuel leak to occur up top. If it's your fuel pump(no lift pump on a 7.3L) it'll be leaking from the pump which is inside the frame under the drivers seat area. The OEM pump is a Bosch 69136, there about $90 and easy to swap. You dads 2007 would be a 6.0L not a 7.3L and the fuel pumps are different.

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
It's in the valley of the motor possibly the fuel bowl cap o ring blew out
Get a new filter and cap
And fuel bowl rebuild kit and pull the bowl.
Check out guzzels7.3 website on pulling the bowl and rebuilding it

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: JustinOOO9

·
Registered