Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I bought my truck at around 48,000 miles and read about threads to the fuel filters on how important is it to replace every 15,000 miles. So I had them replaced and was just wondering , should the filters come out this dirty ? It seems like my truck runs better as well. I was getting 10.6 and now on average 12.1 would this really help the fuel economy on the truck ? Sorry for ignorant questions but I am new to the diesel world.;)

Attachments

·
Registered
525 Posts
I change mine every 10k miles. And they are never that dirty.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Registered
833 Posts
I agree I change at 10k sometimes 7500. And yes it should run better.

Sent from my DROIDX using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
You might want to try a couple of short mileage changes due to the fact that you may have some nasty stuff in your tank. It is cheap maintenance.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You might want to try a couple of short mileage changes due to the fact that you may have some nasty stuff in your tank. It is cheap maintenance.
Yes,
I agree from what it looked like I think I will. Now that I saw how it was done , I pretty sure I can do it myself. The mech. did prime the pump for about a 5 min. before he started it . Probably a step I would of skipped if I didnt see it first glad I did .

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Yes,
I agree from what it looked like I think I will. Now that I saw how it was done , I pretty sure I can do it myself. The mech. did prime the pump for about a 5 min. before he started it . Probably a step I would of skipped if I didnt see it first glad I did .
Correct. You just cycle the key on for a couple seconds then off. Repeat this about 7 times I believe. I think it says something about it in the manual.

·
Registered
1,149 Posts