Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been collecting parts, pieces, tanks & drums for a few months now, but have been reluctant to start fabricating my setup until I had a good source of oil. That time has finally come, and I now have more than I can possably use, and I plan on heating my house, garage, shop, and running it in my truck!

I have a couple of questions:

As far as collecting - I like the idea of a 12v pump because of noise, but am not against 120v (I have a welder / generator mounted in my truck), or air.
The drawback to using an AC powered pump, is the noise of the generator, and the problem with a pressurized tank setup (from what I've read) is the lack of being able to pick up large quantities.
I want to be able to collect 275 gallons at a time, and not be there all day!
Any suggestions would be appreciated, as far as pumps, or setup.

2nd question - I noticed that at one of the locations that I will be collecting from, the top was off the container, and it was raining at the time. Does this mean that the oil is unusable, or can it be dried out enough to use?

3rd question - do you guys check the oil by titration prior to picking it up? If I did not use the proper wording there, sorry, I'm new to all of this. I ask this question because the only way this chain of resturaunts would give me the oil, is if I collected from all of their locations. They have 4 locations, all producing about 40 gallons a week, and I can't really be picky. I have to take what they have, no matter what it titrates at.

4th question - I just picked up an old 1000 gallon diesel tank that I'm sure has rust in it. I plan on using it as a holding tank for unfiltered oil, but don't know if the rust will bother it. My pickup will not be on the very bottom, but I don't want to end up with a $hit load of unusable oil, then have to figure out how to get rid of it!