Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Only sometimes, and only when it's really cold, the CTS alarms that my FICM volts have dropped below 45. Usually only to 44v and only for a second or two. Once it warms up a bit it's solid between 47.5 and 48.5.

My background is in electronics and I have a lot of soldering experience, so I'm thinking I'll try to re-solder myself. I'm hoping that's the only problem is it's very marginally bad at this point and not a total disaster. If it works, I save a ton of dough. I've read the DIY re-solder instructions, but have only seen 4 pin FICMs documented. I believe I may have 7-pin. If I do, I'll try to write-up my process for others to reference. (If anyone knows of an existing reference, that would be even better.)

My main questions is, if I re-solder and it doesn't work or only lasts for a while, would this impact my ability to recover my core charge if I have to replace the FICM power supply at a later time?

·
Registered
6,022 Posts
My wife was a avionics tech in the military and I know she has worked on a ton of computer stuff so when my first ficm started acting up I handed it over and said "here fix this..." well she laughed for 20 minutes then a weird nerd look over came her and she tore it apart and went nuts. It kinda helped it but not reeley.
I did later send it to ficmrepair.com and never heard any complaints from Ed.

·
Registered
6,022 Posts
Last time I commented on a FICM issue I had a airplane pilot that was waiting (I beleive) to take off from a airport in Hong Kong with a load if rubber dog chit and fake puke gave me crap for a week about when to change one out or not. So let me just say I dont wish to disturb the airline community in this time of heavy travel with any bad ficm advice!

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·