Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I am new to the powerstroke forum and to the powerstroke world! I previously had a holy grail 12 valve but just got sick of fixing all the typical dodge problems. I was on the cummins forum quite a bit so I'm pretty familiar with the search function and all that good stuff!

So onto my question! My 12 valve had a 5 inch straight pipe which got really old quick. Obviously the cummins are normally a little louder than these trucks so my question is how loud is a 4" turbo back straight pipe in the cab compared to stock? I can tolerate a little noise but the cummins had an unbearable drone, especially when you got running 75 on the interstate. 4:10 gears didn't help matters any either.

Also what other mods would be good maybe? Especially for mpg's. I know the egr is a huge issue but when I get the money I'm going to totally bulletproof it, egr delete, oil cooler and all. So I'm gonna put off on it for now.

So now that you've read all what I had to say, I'd really like what everyone in the 6.0 world has to say! :haha:

·
Registered
486 Posts
Mine is straight and I love it!! Sounds like a jet outside the truck but no cab noise running down the highway till u get on it!!

Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide

·
I win....
1,327 Posts
My 35's make more noise than the pipe. Mine dumps in front of the passenger rear tire.
It makes one hell of a racket when you jump on it. But its more than tolerable at regular driving speeds.

Ditch the cat and the muffler. Open her up and let her breath!!!

·
Registered
7,117 Posts
I know several guys with straight-piped 6.0's, and they're actually pretty quiet (aside from the turbo whistle) under normal conditions. Now when you let 'em breath... :evillol:

·
Registered
151 Posts
I've owned 2 03 commonrails and I guarentee if you straight pipe the Ford it wont be anything like a straight piped cummins.