Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my Dad is in a good mood tonight and allowing me to order my FCDP and then pay him off.

Well, I don't want to spend $1,500 on parts and labor, so I am deciding to do it myself.

What all do I do during this operation?
Replace coolant?
How much coolant do our trucks hold?
Drain oil?
How do I remove the turbo?
What should I look out for when removing the turbo?
Tips on getting to the up-pipe?
What big problems should I expect to run into?
How do I get the alternator off?
How do I get the oil filter housing off?

I have no serious mechanical experience, but have worked in a garage and seen the way things work. Plus, this operation doesn't seem too entirely involved.

Anyways, any tips would be awesome!

Thanks, Taylor.

·
Registered
670 Posts
When I did my head gaskets and egr delete, my truck took almost 6 gallons of coolant. 3 gal of ford gold, 3 gals of water. Turbo has 3 bolts holding it in 10mm along with the down pipe clamp, intake, up pipes, and oil feed. Turbo comes out pretty easy, might need to tap the clamps on the down pipe and up pipes lightly with a screw driver and hammer to loosen it up. Its a good idea to soak the up pipe bolts a few days before you try and take them out it will really make it easy. oil filter housing comes off really very easily, you just need a torx i think 45 but not positive. Alternator is 3 or 4 bolts. If you work on cars and have mechanical ability you shouldnt have any trouble. Good luck

·
Lt. Negativity
1,739 Posts
Another you can do, is also place all the bolts where they came from as you pull them off and keep them in place so you dont loose anything. Also another idea would be to take pictures as you go, so incase you forgot you can look back on something.

·
Registered
973 Posts
Is that write up an EGR delete or just a bypass?