Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2004 F 350 powerstroke and I just recently bought the pickup. I am fairly new to the pickup diesel world. I have been contemplating on doing a EGR Delete Kit and was wondering what people's opinion was on which one to go with and which is the best?

I have been looking at the Bullet Proof system and the Sinister delete kit. I am not sure on which one to go with. The sinister delete kit does not require you to take off the intake manifold or the cab of the pickup. The bullet proof system i am not sure about the process there.

If you have done the egr delete kit on your pickup please chime in and let me know what has worked and what has not.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
6,293 Posts
First some friendly advice. If I still had the stock oil cooler, and know what I know about the coolant issues with this engine, I would use the two chemical flushes to clean my cooling system first and replace the coolant with a CAT EC-1 rated ELC coolant. I would get a coolant filter on the truck and then I would drive the truck for a month or so and let the old oil cooler and filtration collect all the junk in the cooling system. Then I would replace the oil cooler and put the egr cooler delete kit on.
Do you have a set of gauges where you are watching your ECT and EOT? Those are the most important things to watch. Plenty of this information all over this forum. If you do not know what gauges you should have, what they should read and what to watch for, check out the first link in my signature line. It will tell all.

Now, to your question. The word "best" is open for debate, so I do not claim this is the "best" kit out there. I will say that it will accomplish what you are attempting to do without any issues.
This kit runs about 200 bucks.