Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im not exactly a expert on ford's Ive owned several powerstoke in the past. I just got a 2001 250 2wd that needs a motor. My brother and I are planning to gut it and basically strictly racing it.

As far as the motor goes, Since it needs rebuilt I just was wondering which way to go with it. Pistons, Crank, and so on. I plan on having the heads p&p and fire ringed with arp studs holdn them down.

It has a 6-speed in it right now but plan on going to a billet auto.

Any help would be appriciated.

Thanks

Mark

·
Premium Member
9,603 Posts
depends on how much power you want to make and what kinda money you want to spend. I'm no expert either but if you want to make serious power you are gonna spend serious money.

·
Registered
4,439 Posts
^agreed.

It would be alot cheaper to run a cummings engine(assuming your going for big power).
Also they are just plain faster for less money.

·
Registered
182 Posts
^agreed.

It would be alot cheaper to run a cummings engine(assuming your going for big power).
Also they are just plain faster for less money.
X2 Thousands and thousands cheaper to build big power and still be a very reliable DD

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yea i got a dodge 2500 that runs low 12's, and tryn to get 11's. but we were wantn to do something a lil differant and build a powerstroke. BUT we got a 12v sittn in the shop maybe goin in it.

·
Registered
193 Posts
well I assume you want to keep it ford..so I woulds strongly recomend skipping the small stuff and buy a crate motor with billet rods, coated pistons, high temp valves..h-11 studs, hardened push rods and a girdle. wide open, DI and bwd all offer them.
really not a bad price when you look at the whole deal.

then add a fluid damper, fire rings , some of those blocks have them. a full fuel sytem,