Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In late April, I purchased an SCT SF3 Tuner from Sinister Mfg / MKM Customs. I had been running an Edge Insight for several months and was very happy with the ability to monitor EGT, Boost, IAT, ECT, Trans Temp and EOT after having flushed my coolant system with Restore, replace my anti-freeze with ELC and performed an EGR delete and installed a new oil cooler. I received custom tunes from Michael Penfield at Sinister and installed one of the tunes, only to find that the Edge Insight would no longer display my Boost, Trans Temp, IAT or EOT. These were replaced by NA on the disply. Upon removing the custom tune and replacing it with the stock tune, all funtionality returned to the Edge Insight display.

Note: this is a 2004 F350 CC 4X4 with 6.0 diesel. I tried each tune, including the standard tunes, only to have the exact same issue with each one. Each time the Edge Insight display would work properly, only after returning to the stock tune. I contacted SCT Tech support. All they could do was point their finger at Edge and assume the Insight must not be working correctly. I contacted Edge and they suggested checking to make sure the firmware and software were up to date. I checked these and both were correct.

I contacted Mike Penfield who supplied a stock tune with EGR delete to try. This too had the same issue as the other SCT tunes. Mike suggested I copy my stock tune and send it to him to forward to SCT for analysis, to see what was diferent about my stock tune and what was preventing the Edge Insight display from working with the SCT tunes. That was two mointh ago. Since I hadn't heard anything for so long, I checked with Mike to see if he had heard back from SCT. He suggested I contact SCT directly, which I did today.