Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to create a new thread to get the most visibility. I read through the sticky at the top and had a question regarding it. The list has about 20 or so things that are different in the early 99's vs late 99.5+ Of that list of things that are different, are any of those considered a bad thing? I'm having a hard time telling since I'm new to the diesel thing.

One of the vehicles I'm considering looking at is 2/98 mfg date.

·
What u talkin bout willis
2,724 Posts
I wanted to create a new thread to get the most visibility. I read through the sticky at the top and had a question regarding it. The list has about 20 or so things that are different in the early 99's vs late 99.5+ Of that list of things that are different, are any of those considered a bad thing? I'm having a hard time telling since I'm new to the diesel thing.

One of the vehicles I'm considering looking at is 2/98 mfg date.
THAT WILL BE A EARLY BUILD AS MINE IS THE DIFFRENCES ARE TURBO, UPPIPES, IC TUBES, SPYDER, AND SOME SUSPIENSION PARTS AND ECM'S ARE DIFFRENT AND IM SURE THERES MORE AND PEOPLE WILL CHIME IN SHORTLY

·
Registered
277 Posts
I don't think any of the differences are "bad" per se just different. But you can upgrade your rig with later options and stuff that the early '99s didn't come with.

My truck didn't come with keyless entry and I plan on having that using the factory keyless entry system. I'd also like to upgrade from the cloth seats to the later Lariat leather seats. I like them a lot.

Chris

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So there are no inherent flaws then with the early 99's? The price is good on this one I'm considering, but I want to make sure it's not because of problems the early 99's had.

I guess the question would be, had you to do it all over again. Would you skip buying an early 99 and get a later 99?

Thanks

·
Registered
277 Posts