Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,511 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, members. I just bought the latest Diesel Powers magazine Oct. volume 8. Why? I have no idea kind of like have to touch paint when sign posted says "wet paint". There is an article in the Diesel Tech about how to do a head stud install cab-on. So I went to the article and read it, now I’m not an expert but I have done cab-on head and studs removal and installations on about six trucks now including my own. All I have to say about what they published is WTF are they thinking, and did they really do any research on this at all. They say it was done at Flynn’s Shop so I guess that the research.
First let me start on the passenger’s side, they state to make room on that side, Flynn removes part of the evaporator core housing (10 screws). With just one portion of the shell removed, it provides enough room to access all the head bolts (you don’t have to pull the evaporator core itself).Later in the article it is said that the top rear bolt won’t come out because of clearance and to zip tie in the up position so when you pull the head it will be able to be removed.
Well I guess that sounds ok, but remember I’m not a shop like Flynn here so maybe I’m just wrong in my method. I remove the battery, tray, and any of the vacuum stuff on the inner fender well. I then remove the inner fender well, to make room, and will be easier for the EGR delete up pip installation. Then I go inside the cab and remove the nuts that hold the evaporator box in place(6 nuts) disconnect the vacuum lines and grab the whole box with evaporator in it and yank it out and put it where battery was upside down and tie it off to tow hook to hold out of the way. Now you can get all the head bolts including the one that they couldn’t. Then of course depending on whether you are doing one for one or removing head just go on and then reverse removal for installation.