Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys... newbie here looking for some info. I'm currently in a F-150 and im looking to step up to the F-250s. I want to take an 08' f250 and swap in a 5.9l cummins commonrail and make some big power. I have been able to find some info on 05 and 06 swaps but no 08 and newer. Has anyone seen this done before? Or could point me in the right direction? I have nothing against powerstroke... but I think it would be cool to do something different. An f250 with a cummins has always been my dream truck!

Thanks

·
Registered
77 Posts
I think I might have seen a thread about that on cummins forum. I'd check in there engine swaps section, i'm sure its there.

·
Premium Member
4,938 Posts
You are embarking on a very expensive project, I would suggest you do alot of research before you attempt this.

Im currious why you want to get rid of the 6.4, they are making wicked power, there isnt really a need for a cummins transplant. These motors are making well over 500hp at the wheels with just a tunner

·
Premium Member
9,475 Posts
If you're dead set on swapping the 5.9 in place of a 6.4 it really shouldn't be much if any different than a swap in a slightly older truck, say an 05-07...:dunno:

Once the factory motor, trans, and wiring are out of the way it should be about the same as any other superduty. I will also agree with a hell of an expensive path. I've seen it first hand. A guy I know just paid for a turn key 5.9CR swap in his '07. He now has 700+ on fuel at the cost of about $25 grand...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If you're dead set on swapping the 5.9 in place of a 6.4 it really shouldn't be much if any different than a swap in a slightly older truck, say an 05-07...:dunno: