Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I decided to paint my intercooler piping and somehow that turned into taking out the fuel bowl and the fuel pump and cleaning out the valley. While I have got all this stuff out of the truck, any recommendations on things I should take the time to upgrade, replace, check out? Kind of ***** to do so hoping to save same time by doing some stuff now rather than doing it all over again down the road. I am just not sure what to look for since I am new to powerstrokes. Thanks

·
BANNED by Kris
6,317 Posts
Since you are there and already tore stuff out I'd recomend pulling apart the wiring loom within 6-8" of the fuel bowl and inspect for damaged wiring. Unless you are the original owner then the truck at some point in its life or another has had a fuel leak issue near the bowl. Diesel eats wiring shielding and will slowly cause issues down the line. Just open it up and look for melting line.

Also disconnect the wiring going to the valve covers. Two per head. Look inside and make sure the pins are bright silver and not burned. Also look to make sure that they are dry and not oily. If there's oil there, might be time for new VC gaskets.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
While its out replace the rubber lines from the pump to the bowl they are known to leak

·
...kind of looks homeless
2,079 Posts
Check/remove the fuel bowl heater element and check the wiring in the valley and on the bowl like Matt said. DEFINITELY replace the lines from the mechanical pump to the bowl. It's kind of a b**** to get them swapped out, but you'll thank yourself later.

·
Registered
496 Posts