Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a retired Chrysler Tech trying to do a good deed for someone. He has a 2006 F-250 Super Duty 6.0 Diesel. He has not taken very good care of it due to being out of work. Lack of oil and fuel changes, bad batteries, he would charge them or boost them, finally bought two new ones. The problem is starting in the morning, black smoke, idle going up and down and bad milege.
I read the articles on checking the FICM.
Key on volts was 48.5
Cranking volts was 48-49 which the articles say are good, I put it back together and had to crank it to start, but it did and through a code P-0611,
P-0305 & P-1000. I thought for sure it was the module, can it still be with voltage like that. Can it be it needs a simple oil,filter change? I am lost now and look like a dope being a old mechanic that can't fix it, and I'm trying to be nice and do a good deed. Can anyone give me some ideas? Thanks:(

·
Registered
11,152 Posts
Don't feel bad, they can stump the best guys sometimes. The injectors COULD just be sticking (stiction) from bad oil. Possible.
I know it's tough sometimes trying to maintain a vehicle but if you have a 6.0 you GOT to keep it up.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Definately Change the Oil and Oil Filter. I'd also add Rev-X to the oil. And change BOTH Fuel Filters.

The 6.0 Uses engine oil as hydraulic fluid at 1500 psi to drive the injectors (seriously). Dirty oil clogs the injectors due to the Teeny tiny tolerances that the oil has to go through inside them, causing them to stick open and closed, and plain not work. Sometimes they can be saved by a good synthetic and Rev-X treatment to clean them out, removing varnishing and junk, however.

Also, add a good fuel additive to the fuel to lubricate the fuel side of the injector. If you're lucky, this might clear it up.