Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To begin, let me say I am a nurse, not a diesel mechanic. I know absolutely nothing about engines. My truck is a 2006 Ford F-350 superduty diesel dually with a 6.0 Powerstroke engine. It has 79000 miles on it.

I sort of inherited the truck from my brother who died two years ago. He was religious about routine maintenance. He replaced the turbocharger about 6 months before he died. It might have 2000 miles on it now.

The chirping noise is not evident when idling. I don’t hear it on acceleration but that could be because I can’t hear it over the big engine noise. I hear it on deceleration and only once the engine is warm...say after 20 miles at interstate speeds. It’s basically audible when I take my foot off the accelerator.

This noise developed on a trip from Georgia to Arkansas which is a pig trail about half the way. I suppose there is a possibility it was there before, but I didn’t hear it over Boston playing “Peace of Mind”. Lol

I took it to the Ford place in Jacksonville, Arkansas. They recommended routine cooling flush, oil change, tire rotation and they would try to find the chirp. They were kind enough to put “new car scent” in my air conditioner without asking for a mere 40 dollars. 😂🤣😂

They could not find the chirp but said the serpentine belt was worn and they thought that might be the cause. At nearly 80,000 miles, that sounded reasonable.

So they changed it.

The chirp is less pronounced but still there.

While I know nothing about engines, there are lots of forum posts about a chirping sound from this vehicle.

And these posts are from guys who know how to take the engine apart and repair it.

So I’m hoping someone might have some idea what is the most likely cause of that little chirping bird sound and if so, I can ask the Ford mechanic to check it.