Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 7.3L turbo diesel, I'm looking at a 99 F250 with a seized up 5.0, I want to drop the 7.3 into it
Am I going to need to make modifications to alot of things? I'm not too experienced in the whole truck building thing, some serious help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,035 Posts
1999 trucks didn't have a 5.0... Either your year or motor is wrong.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I talked to my buddy and he told me the same thing, so I just assumed he dropped in a 5.0 for whatever reason. But will I need a suspension upgrade and a new trans?

·
Registered
609 Posts
Well I talked to my buddy and he told me the same thing, so I just assumed he dropped in a 5.0 for whatever reason. But will I need a suspension upgrade and a new trans?
Trans most deffantly needs to be changed, different bolt patterns I belive between the gasser trannys and the diesels. If you going to put a new trans in it dont bother putting a 4r100 (auto trans) in it unless it is built(mostly if you plan on chipping and pushing high hp), otherwise look into the zf6. As for the suspention I read somewhere on here that the leaf springs are heavier duty for the diesel. Hopfuly someone with more knowledge on that can fill you in on the suspention

·
Registered
73 Posts
I bought a 7.3L turbo diesel, I'm looking at a 99 F250 with a seized up 5.0, I want to drop the 7.3 into it
Am I going to need to make modifications to alot of things? I'm not too experienced in the whole truck building thing, some serious help would be appreciated.