Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 7.3 which started bogging down, so pulled over changed the fuel filter which looked ok & foo i went, got 5 miles down the road same thing, took fuel filter out & put back & did another 5 miles before it did it again, did this for 40 miles & filled up with diesel 12 gallons thinking it would sort it out but i was wrong, had to do it another 2 times to get home. Then I thought I wonder if it could be the crank sensor ? so i changed it ( had one in the glove comp) & low & behold it ran great. went on a 400 mile trip the week after & a 100 miles from home started doing the same thing, so changed the sensor again & came straight home no problems. I do run a mixture of cooking oil & diesel which i have been running for 3 years with no problems, any input would be appreciated, thanks

·
Registered
202 Posts
Do you run your mixture in the stock tank? Stock pump? Do you have gauges? Would be good to know what's going on with your fuel pressure. I take it it's not throwing any codes?

·
Registered
3,835 Posts
How cold is it there? the cooking oil could be gelling up on you. Check your oil level also. I don't think its related to the cps at all. So did you actually change the fuel filter at any point?

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
when u say running a mix im taking it as you fill your stock tank with the wvo and top off with the diesel?

sounds to me like your wvo is too thick and gumming up the situation. iirc thats not a good way to go about burning the stuff?

maybe someone with more practical expirience(im just a key board veg guy....for now) might chime in

·
Registered
624 Posts
Are you burning unheated veg that is just mixed in with D2 in your stock tank? I've only heard bad stories about that scenario...

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
Are you burning unheated veg that is just mixed in with D2 in your stock tank? I've only heard bad stories about that scenario...