Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I blew my rear diff today on my 04 F250. Had it towed back to my garage and opened up the pumpkin, and found lots of shattered metal inside. So, my ring and pinion is toast! I bought the truck used last year, and not sure what gears are in there. The previous owner says that they are not stock gears, but he is not sure himself of what ratio they are. I am currently running 39.5" tires and I do a lot of towing. I have a one car flatbed trailer that I tow around (4000-5000 lbs depending on what car I have on the trailer). I drive mostly on the highway.

So, what are my options at this point?

What gears should I run?

Is it simply swapping out the ring and pinion to fix this, or is the damage more severe? I read some other threads and sounded like it might be better to swap out the entire rear axle when the ring and pinion fails?

I'm kinda new to this truck, so any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I was running 4:56's on my Tahoe when I ran 39.5" tires. Also, what front and rear ends come stock on the 04 F250's so I know what to look for when buying parts?

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
19,112 Posts
The rear axle is stout enough for what you say you are doing with it. Since you were likely running 3.73's in your 250, the tall tires, towing weight and likely heat from towing finally took its toll. I would swap in some much larger gears (4.56's will reduce your mileage, but then so will those 39.5" tires) and get an 08 rear differential cover (CSIPSD has reported a 20*F reduction with the finned aluminum cover versus a stamped steel cover).

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3