Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have been reading on the forum for a while but wanted to know, if you had a blank slate. What would you do to my truck. I am a diesel newbie. If you assume that I know nothing, you are about correct. I just purchased a sweet fx4 2005 250 powerstroke with 60K miles on it and about 1 1/2 years on the motor warranty. I am making this my tow vehicle for my tournament fishing. I fish on the redfish tours and stay in the southeast the entire time. I tow a total weight of @3K lbs. This will be the truck's primary purpose as I am getting a car :( for my primary driver. I have been studying the mods you guys use and recommend but have been getting more and more confused. I am concerned with fuel economy and durability. My planned mods are:

4" turbo back exhaust--Help on brands here--what are the differences? Dual/single?

Intake -- Seems like most prefer the AEM or K&N-- but some others say that stock is plenty sufficient. What are your thoughts?

Programmer/Chip -- How does this work? Looks like the brand of choice is SCT. Will this void the warranty? Not looking for huge performance but wanting to maximize the economy.

Guages -- which are absolutely critical which are helpful which are just luxurious?

Brakes -- Dropping some cryo's on as soon as the ones that I have get toasted.

What other cosiderations would you look at?

I am in my late thirties but drive like I am in my late 60's when it comes to pulling a boat so that will help in fuel economy as well.

I will be installing a killer sound system in it and am in the creative stage currently. I installed while in college and put some stuff through IASCA so it will be fun when I get that wrapped up. I always try for over the top sound with a stealth install. I will keep you up to date on that.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
295 Posts