Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. Newbie here 2/15/20. We just purchased a 2000 DRWRWD, Crew Cab, 8’ Bed, 4:10. This truck is bone stock and never been chipped. One owner, meticulous records (all good ) just turn 137K miles. We are now shopping for a 5th wheel camper. I understand all the weight calculations. My question is, what is the max RV weight that we can pull down the interstate with the cruise control set on 65 and set back and enjoy the ride ? Knowing that pulling the one also has a high wind resistance that must be considered. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,558 Posts
I recommend you repost this in the 7.3 section. Each group is a little different.

The 6.0 I have, I would recommend a Two Axle RV. My RV weighs in at 12k loaded, but my towing weights allow about 16k. I like going with about 2/3ds the rated weight. MY rule, because noone else use's the same. Recently parked at an RV Campground and the same year F250 next towed 20k, 4k over the limit without a problem, but had some serious mods done to the truck. So his was about 4/3ds rated weighting, which if he got in an accident which was investigated, it would not be in his favor. With my 2/3 GVRW rating, I'm also confident I'm not exceeding the Rear Axle rating.