Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up guys? I am well aware that the ford powerstroke owners manual recommends no more that 5% biodiesel, but can anyone give me the cold hard facts on running 100% biodiesel. I am new to diesels and the 6.4 is my first so be easy on me. I have been told that biodiesel is cleaner than ultra low sulfur diesel. If this is true, than why will it harm this engine as opposed to the older engines like the 7.3? I have heard that it is bad for the injectors, but if it is cleaned thoroughly before it is run through your fuel lines and pumps than what causes damage to the injectors? How can it be bad for the DPF if it is running so much cleaner? Like I said I'm new to this and would love to run biodiesel in this truck in the distant future, but don't want to grenade the motor doing it. I know if something happens ford will void the warranty, so until it expires I will just research the topic. Any information to answer my questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks to everyone for your information!

·
Registered
2,026 Posts
i have a 7.3, so i can't speak too much about the rest. my engine prefers B100 vs dino100. bio does keeps stuff cleaned up better the dino.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Do it: If you get rid of the dpf. and regeneration. I truly believe if you were to run 100% bio. you would clog that sucker in a day. with the emissions crap installed. For a better word, way to waxy. J.M.H.O.

737tdi

·
Registered
108 Posts