Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
662 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 1994.5 powerstroke 5 speed dually with 317k miles. when the truck is cold like when i just move it around the yard in the morning when i drive the truck it is pretty choppy..like it shakes the whole truck and when i get on the road its like a big block with a big cam in it... but once the truck gets warmed up it sounds fine..zero smoke at all at anytime thats why i was wondering..oh and i just put on a brand new air filter from donaldson and that helped a little on take off..

·
Registered
496 Posts
first thing to check is the glow plug relay and glow plugs. even though its not really cold yet they are probably still suppose to be coming on in the morning.

im not a diesel expert, but this early in the season, and with your mileage that seems like consistant symtoms. im having a similar issue also.. when i start up in the morning it drives real rough for the first few min, then clears up. im assuming i have an injector sticking.. funny how i just had a new one installed, and never before had this problem. it def feels like is has a miss in it for a few minutes. im hoping to be able to change mine out next year anyway, recent repairs have pretty much blown my budget. good luck.

·
Registered
62 Posts
plug in the block heater for 2 hrs and then start it....if it runs properly you probably need sticks...I know....I plugged my truck in for 4 years before finally biting the bullet and getting them rebuilt....Jim at Rosewood Diesel is great to deal with...hth

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
^Sounds fishy to me.

Ohm out the glow plugs. Ohm out the GPR. Clean the FPR screan. I bet this helps you out tremendously.

·
Registered
496 Posts