Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would assume this is one of what will soon be many aftermarket mounts that will be available to mount a winch in a similar fashion as the factory winch. You're looking at maybe $150 worth of plate and some cost to have the parts laser cut. I can appreciate the engineering time it took to develop this, but wow, this is expensive for what you're getting. I would expect a kit like this to be more like $300 - $400.

I've been doing hardcore offroading for 20+ years and have had a lot of experience with many of the winches on the market. I'll say that not everybody needs a Warn winch that's $1500 - $2000. For the people that plan to rarely use it (pulling the occasional car out of the ditch, dragging a tree around the yard, etc.), any one of the $600-ish 12,000# winches available would work fine. If you're using your winch on a regular basis or in critical applications, then it makes sense to pay for premium quality.

I'm looking forward to putting a winch on my truck, but will hold off for a while hoping for a kit like this that costs less. Or I'll make one myself if nothing is available that I see is a fair price.

Administrator
the hardest pill to swallow is you have to weld it yourself.

I have warn hideaway on my 06 with a weekend warrior winch, it works great for me.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
the hardest pill to swallow is you have to weld it yourself.

I have warn hideaway on my 06 with a weekend warrior winch, it works great for me.
Everybody's situation is different. I have welding skills and a very nice welding machine in my garage, but not enough projects to keep me busy. This thing is simple to weld, especially because it's made of p&o steel. I'd much rather weld it myself then pay extra money for labor and shipping to have somebody else weld it. I wish there were more products available in weld it yourself kit.

Registered