Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone i just recently purchased my 99 f-250 and im totally new to the whole diesel world so i was just wanting to know what the best prformance upgrades for the money would be as long as any other recommndations you all have thanks.

Evan

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
Hey there! I just bought my '99 f250 last night also!!

straight pipe, cat delete, tymar diy intake, and a tuner and you'll be rolling coal all night long.

·
Registered
133 Posts
diy intake
zoodad mod
straigt pipe her, there is no other sound like it:woot:
And if you want to get more out of her go ahead and get a chip , it will totaly wake your rig up:thumb: , just be sure to get a set of gauges first. Pyro, trany temp(if auto) and boost gauge:liar:

·
Registered
646 Posts
Do you have an early or late 99? Check your build date on the door

·
PMR = JUNK
11,244 Posts
First let er breathe. Do the DIY intake with a 6637 Napa filter, and cut the muffler (and cat if it has one). Then before you get any sort of chip, get a good set of gauges, pyro, boost, and trans temp is usually what most get. Then get yourself a custom tuned chip. There are many to choose from.

Total Diesel Performance, usually referred to as a TW for Tony Wildman, i have one and love it
Beans
DP Tuner
Swamps
Power Hungry Performance
Brians Truck Shop

I may be forgetting a few. You really cant go wrong with any of them. Just call them and talk to them and decide for yourself which you like best.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Which one would you rather have an early 99 or the later 99? And as for gauges i have pyro and boost i heard you dont need tranny temp if you have a manual correct me if im wrong. I also have the intake upgrade and about the tuners do i need to upgrade my headbolts so they dont stretch out if i were to purchase one?

·
PMR = JUNK
11,244 Posts