Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just want to know if my truck has been deleted or not. My friend asked me if I have put def in it which I had no idea at the time what that was. I said that I have been driving it for over 6 months and have never put any in it. So he thinks it’s deleted. Any help?

·
Hate stupid people
8,587 Posts
7.3 powerstrokes don't take DEF.
7.3 powerstrokes only "delete" for them would be muffler and or Cat. depending on how old your truck is and where is produced from.

·
Super Moderator
19,655 Posts
@ consumer levels, diesel vehicles didn't need to use Diesel Exhaust Fluid until the 2011 year models, regardless of truck brand. The 7.3L-equipped Fords ran from '94 through '03, so these engines are not equipped to carry or use DEF.

Your friend had a valid question, but now you know for yourself and how to answer him.

Regarding "Deleted" - that means different things depending on year model. It could be as simple as what @CloverLeafFarm said, all the way up to removing things on the engine to removing the factory exhaust. (Simplified answer) Actually more involved, but you get the idea.

Reactions: Hydro

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
7.3 powerstrokes don't take DEF.
7.3 powerstrokes only "delete" for them would be muffler and or Cat. depending on how old your truck is and where is produced from.
When I got it it had stacks on it and a cold air intake and it always throws a EGR code so I think they had it removed but I’m not sure

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
It doesn't have a EGR either.

·
Registered
617 Posts
Any chance you have a 6.0 and don't know it?

·
Administrator
22,253 Posts
He claims he has an 03

·
Registered
617 Posts