Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1999 F-250 Supercab White 7.3
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newly bought 99 has 101K miles. I want to change the AT fluid etc. But I see on this forum that a 6.0 cooler change recommended or equivalent. I read using a junk yard used unit is a bad idea. I see CNC and others sell the Mishimoto unit, which looks very nice, for around $350. Man I'm a little stretched on funds after getting truck etc and was wondering if their are any other cooler alternatives that I am missing? Where does one get a 6.0 Ford AT cooler? I see Rockauto has some coolers for maybe $200, who knows quality?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
buy the Ford brand. cant go wrong and the best made.

·
Registered
8,969 Posts
I installed the Dorman brand 6.0l cooler purchased from xdp diesel. They are a forum vendor and a reputable site. I have been running it since 2016 problem free. 120+ degree summers and -25 in the winter no issues. Call them for their pricebeat and shop around to find the lowest one and let them beat it. stay away from Mishi if you can.

i tried a junkyard unit and it leaked the same day. Ford had been out for a while so took a chance and it happened to work nicely.

·
Administrator
30,450 Posts
Junkyard unit could be 0-100% clogged and you wouldn't know it
not worth the risk I am not a Mishi or Dorman fan but both those seem to have ok feedback and the mishi is already setup for the 7.3 hose size

personally I went OEm when i needed one and it was a tough $ pill to swallow

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
personally I went OEm when i needed one and it was a tough $ pill to swallow
caster oil is way tougher to swallow. I know and that was 50 years ago

Reactions: ZMANN

·
Registered
137 Posts
Never install a used cooler with unknown history. It may have come off a transmission that had a failure and is full of metal. Or coolant contamination.