Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm bored and I used to love all the build threads when forums were in their heyday. So I figured I'd do one for my truck.

I am a travel nurse. My wife, 3 yr old daughter and I have been traveling around the country with a 33.5' 5th wheel. When we decided to do this I started looking for a truck and the 6.0 just seamed like a solid platform for a good price so I found a clean 2007 CCSB that was stock with an 8" PC lift. I planned on doing all the update stuff before we took off. My brother owns a fab shop with a lift so I do all the work myself with his help.

First thing was to pull the lift. I found a guy selling all the stock stuff for $100. Pulled the lift and dropped it to stock with a leveling kit I got off amazon. I didn't have any u-bolts that would work with the f250 blocks so I had to use the 1" blocks that came with the leveling kit. It was squatted and I wasn't a fan, but my trailer still sat up in the front so I never but the bigger blocks in. 3 yrs later and I just don't care anymore. After on top, how I bought it on the bottom.

I did the typical stuff first and the new oil cooler clogged back up in about 3 days. For the next couple months I would backlash the cooer weekly with diminishing results. At this point I was researching my options and didn't like any of them. I decided to build my own kit as I wanted to keep the stock oil filter and I wanted an external liquid-to-liquid cooler with a pre-filter. I decided on a BPD manifold on the engine with the IPR filter (with an extra mesh filter) and 6.7 cooler. We built our own lines and build a bracket to mount the cooler behind the bumper on the passenger side behind the bumper. I had to stop on the side of the road at least 15 times in the first 6 months because the filter would clog solid. Its been about 2 1/2 yrs and I clean it every so often and its not bad.