Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I’m new to Powerstrokes always had a Cummins I have a 2006 ford 6.0 just had the motor out redid the heads new warren injectors all new gaskets headstuds up pipes and some other things I can’t think of. Now for the bad I cannot get it to run right for the life of me tried all kinds of things it smokes like crazy and knocks on idles barely will stay running won’t clear out no codes or anything all pressures look good voltages etc.??? Anyone have some guesses

·
Compression Ignition Addict
6,000 Posts
1. What are you using to read codes
2. Sounds like a bad injector (or two) to me.

Also, make sure the vgt solenoid connector is firmly in place.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Used one of the ford tools and a snap on one also. I thought bad injector you but warren rebuilt them and I sent them back after this problem and it still did it when I got them back

·
6,000 Posts
Warren has had bad injectors out of the box. Do some searches - or I can post a half dozen links if you need me to.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I would say check and make sure there is no o ring pieces under injectors it sounds like a injector problem either the injector is bad or its not seated all the way what are the codes your getting

·
6,000 Posts
Did you see my comment about checking the VGT solenoid connector?

Also did you see the question on reading codes?

Sounds like they were rebuilt once and checked once. Could happen, but unlikely I guess. I suppose it could be incorrect installation on all of them also - torque wrench calibrated? New copper gaskets installed and all old ones removed? Hold-down bolt holes cleaned properly?

How are you verifying the raw fuel is from every cylinder?

The most common reasons for raw fuel in the exhaust are dumping excess fuel in a cylinder(s), or insufficient air. You could also have issues with the valve train, compression, or timing I suppose.