Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I've had this issue since I bought the truck and I'm at a loss as to what the problem is. The truck (2007 F250 6.0 Powerstroke) has only ever built around 8-10 PSI of boost (maximum), which is obviously low as every other 6.0 I have driven is capable of surpassing 25 PSI like it's nothing. I've been fighting this boost issue for a couple years now, and I'm looking to see if anyone has had something similar. I'm aware that there's many things that can cause low boost / boost leaks, but none have been able to solve my boost problem. Here's a list of things that I know are not the problem-

Turbo: This particular problem has persisted across 3 turbos.
Charge pipes, boots, or clamps: The charge pipes were replaced with aluminum pipes from KC Turbos, and the boots were replaced with Riff Raff Diesel's kit.
Intercooler: One of the 3 turbos mentioned above experienced bearing failure and wiped out the intercooler, so the factory intercooler was replaced with a new CSF aluminum intercooler.
Up-pipes: The up-pipes started a small leak, so they were replaced altogether.
MAP Sensor: The MAP Sensor was replaced, the boost issue persisted.
EBP: All readings pertaining to the EBP are good.
Boost Gauge: I was wondering if the boost gauge itself was malfunctioning, so I installed a monitor (SCT Livewire TS+) and the readings on the monitor matched the 8-10 PSI on the instrument cluster.
Tuning: When I bought the truck it had a pilot injection tune loaded onto it but the tuner wasn't with the truck, so the truck was sent to Ford to get a full re-flash back to stock / factory settings.
PCM: I've heard of bad PCM's causing weird issues, but between the time of buying the truck and sending it to Ford for the re-flash a separate PCM was installed (I hated the pilot injection and I've only head bad things about them). The problem persisted across both PCM's