Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully I am in the right area since I am a newbie to the forum (about 25 minutes). I have a Ruby Red 2017 F-350 DRW 6.7. Woo Hoo! Anyways, is there any way to replace the GPS software Ford uses for the SYNC3 system to change it to the Rand McNalley GPS? Really disappointed Ford designed a truck to pull trailers/RVs (I pull a 13ft 6in high, 42 foot long RV as a full-time RVer) and the GPS/navigation system is not compatible when pulling a large trailer to avoid low bridges. I have been routed twice in the New England states to drive under low bridges (one was a covered bridge 10ft 6in) with max weight of 7000 pounds.

Any suggestions other than purchasing another dash/window mounted devices?

Thanks,

Michael

·
Premium Member
11,724 Posts
There is no way to change the built-in Nav, but you might be able to use a third-party Nav app through Carplay or Android Auto.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
G8orFord...Thank you for the answer. I expected that it cannot be changed. I looked at your recommendations for overcoming the shortcomings in the GPS/Navigation Ford uses. Unfortunately, those two use the same Google Maps Ford uses and they are designed for automobiles not pulling a RV. I guess I will purchase a Rand McNalley RVND 7 GPS and Velcro it over the display.

Ford needs to come up with a better GPS/Navigation to meet the needs of RV hauling customers. I see more F-350s pulling large RVs down the road than any other brand.

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Ford needs to come up with a better GPS/Navigation to meet the needs of RV hauling customers. I see more F-350s pulling large RVs down the road than any other brand.