Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there.

I have a 2006 f250 xl edition and it features the manual locking hubs. My last ford had automatic hubs so I am very new to these.

when they are unlocked (free) and I engage it to 4x4, only the rear tires spin.. It is like 4x4 is not even on.. Is this normal?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
Yes it is normal.
With manual hubs you have to turn them to "Lock" in order to use 4 wheel drive.

If you know that you will be using 4wd fairly often, you can just leave them locked in. This way you won't have to get out each time to lock them. Then when you know that you won't be using 4wd for a while just switch them back to "Free".

·
Premium Member
1,431 Posts
If you have manual hubs they have to be turned to lock for four wheel drive. If you have the four wheel drive switch on the dash then you have vaccum hubs and will lock automatically, no need to turn the hubs in.

·
Premium Member
1,431 Posts
Yes it is normal.
With manual hubs you have to turn them to "Lock" in order to use 4 wheel drive.

If you know that you will be using 4wd fairly often, you can just leave them locked in. This way you won't have to get out each time to lock them. Then when you know that you won't be using 4wd for a while just switch them back to "Free".
You beat me to it. Lol

·
Registered
44 Posts
Other than a reduction in fuel mileage, is it harmful to leave them locked in all year. Does anyone know how much fuel mileage is affected?

·
Registered
306 Posts
Other than a reduction in fuel mileage, is it harmful to leave them locked in all year. Does anyone know how much fuel mileage is affected?