Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I'm new to the page and looking for some advice. I have a 2005 f250 6.0 2wd. The truck started to get a high idle right under 1k rpms. The trans slips in drive but not reverse also when I put it in R N D it hits hard into gear. Only code is for glowplug. And p0657 when I last moved the truck the tow haul light started to flash. The fluid is dark red but no metal checked the harness from the pcm to the trans and the internal trans harness no fraying or shorts from what I can see. Tested the solenoids and they all clicked and and pushed fluid. Kinda lost on what to do next. Also the orfice tube that's supposed to be under the solenoid body is no where to be found. Any advice will be greatly appreciated I have a spare transmission and tcase from a 2003 4x4 6.0 would this work in the 05 truck? Truck already has a 4wd axle in the front

·
Administrator
30,758 Posts
how many miles on this trany ?

the flashing T/H button indicates there is a trany code

you have a 4x4 front axle under your 2wd now?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There is 260k on the truck had 215k when I bought it. I have no idea if the transmission was ever replaced. Did fluid and filters about 15k ago. And the truck has a 05 axle in the front

·
Administrator
30,758 Posts
interesting on the axle

i guess you could mate the 4x4 tranny up you would need the rear driveshaft, front driveshaft, cross member, it would probably be best if it was a manual tcase otherwise you're going to need a bunch of electronics and programming to get the ESOF to work

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6