Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 6.0L powerstroke in the shop 4 times in the last 3 months for the same issue, cranking but not starting. I replaced the ICP connector(not the sensor). Problem continued, dealership replace the Cam position sensor, this worked for about a month, problem cam back. Dealership said I needed a new FICM so I have them replace it. A week later the probelm came back and they now say I need to replace the entire wire loom, $1,040 for parts and labor, this is outrageous! I think they are throwing parts at it now and don't really know what the problem is. Any other ideas on what this problem might be?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I am not familiar with what "oil rail plugs" are. I found a loose connection on one of the injector plugs (part of the wire loom), the plug closest to the firewall on the drivers side, could this cause the truck to crank but not start? it seems as though when you push the plug back into place it pushes the other side of the connection (into the valve cover) further inside the value cover. Do you think I will have to pull the valve cover off to fix this? I can't believe that the Ford dealership would over look a loose connection like this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
I am not familiar with what "oil rail plugs" are. I found a loose connection on one of the injector plugs (part of the wire loom), the plug closest to the firewall on the drivers side, could this cause the truck to crank but not start? it seems as though when you push the plug back into place it pushes the other side of the connection (into the valve cover) further inside the value cover. Do you think I will have to pull the valve cover off to fix this? I can't believe that the Ford dealership would over look a loose connection like this.
rhanson- The injector plug your talking about would not cause the engine not to start. Also the plug you are talking about locks into the rocker boxes (that aluminum piece where the plug goes in) from the back side with two plastic lock tabs. If those tabs are broken that plug will move and would require either reinstalling the lock in the rocker box or replacing the plug or injector to ensure a positive lock. The fact that the cam sensor fixed it for about a month leads me to believe the harness is more than likely chafed somewhere. It is very common on an 03 model year.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
For the record 03 model year is not equipped with oil rail plugs. They are equipped with strait rails, standpipes and stainless steel braided lines with quick connect fittings. 2004.25, 2005, 2006 and 2007 models are equipped with oil rail plugs due to the relocation of the ICP sensor the the passenger valve cover.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
298 Posts
If there's air in the fuel system it will crank and "want to start" but won't.
Just for ****s and giggles, crack the fuel filter and see if a spurt of air comes out...then try it..and does the tach move when you crank it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
For the record 03 model year is not equipped with oil rail plugs. They are equipped with strait rails, standpipes and stainless steel braided lines with quick connect fittings. 2004.25, 2005, 2006 and 2007 models are equipped with oil rail plugs due to the relocation of the ICP sensor the the passenger valve cover.
Learn somthing new everyday,...main reason I joined the forum. Love powerstrokes but not really experienced with the 6.0 , I am with the cummins though, and big rig diesels....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
If there's air in the fuel system it will crank and "want to start" but won't.
Just for ****s and giggles, crack the fuel filter and see if a spurt of air comes out...then try it..and does the tach move when you crank it?
When I crank it long enough the gauges do move and a few lights in the dash light up. Any thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
When I crank it long enough the gauges do move and a few lights in the dash light up. Any thoughts?
I recommend you check for fuel at the upper housing like requested prior. The lights on the cluster and the gauges sweeping is due to a time out in the ic due to long crank times. It may also show a TBC fault in the message center. Don't worry about the gauges sweeping. Just check to ensure you have fuel at the upper housing, that the tach is reading an rpm signal, should be 100-200 rpm cranking and that your oil pressure gauge reads the middle of the gauge after a few seconds cranking.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top