Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Looking to find my first diesel to pull an RV I bought and everyone is telling me diesel is the way to go, and thats how I came across this great forum you have here. Seems like a helpful community. So from what I gather a lot of people are fond of the 7.3s, and I was reading 99-2000 were the best years to get. Anyways I came across this and yes I know its a 95 not a 99, or a 2000 1995 Ford F350

I'm planning to make the 2 hour trip to check it out and was wondering what are the top things I should be checking? I talked to him and he said it has a new inspection and he's used it to tow his monster truck around, and it has zero rust. I'm very new to diesel so I could use any helpful advise you gentlemen might have to offer in what to look for. BTW how are the transmission on that year?

Thanks

·
Vendor
13,059 Posts
Look up on YouTube for powerstrokehelp
and that guy has some videos as to exactly what your looking for. Some people don't really like him but he does have a lot of useful info.

I have no dog in the hunt and some of his info is questionable but there is slot of good stuff too.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
371 Posts
:ORG welcome:
Looks like a clean truck. no mention of miles and no shots of the engine. The usual stuff like any vehicle purchase, lights, switches, AC,.

I got this same advice from this forum when I bought mine. With the engine running take off the oil filter cap and turn it upside down on the valve cover where you took it off and see if gets blown of or just vibrates off.

I'm not sure what kind of Darth vader hat you see on top of the motor but lift up or better take it off (3 nuts take it off on mine) get on a ladder with a flashlight and look down around the fuel bowl and in front of the turbo for any kind of fluid - oil - diesel, you'll just see shiny. (hopefully not though)