Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, Im not a NEWB to Ford Diesels, but I am a NEWB to this forum and to my 09 F350 XLT Lariat 4 Door, Long bed 4X4 Dually diesel with 1864 Miles.

Purchased the truck a week ago, and noticed that the "Cleaning Exaust Filter" light came on what seems all the time. This morning at 3 am while driving the little dash screen says to "Pull Over and find a place to stop now." Once I did pull over on an offramp and put the truck into "Park" the engine immediatly cut off and wouldn't even respond to any attempt of a restart. All the lights came on like it would be on a normal start up, but no juice to the starter.

After about an hour, the truck would finally turn over but not fire. We let the truck sit for 5 more hours and it will still only turn over and not fire. If it wsnt a Sunday and the dealership being closed...... ya get the idea.

The Wrench Symbol appears on the dash LCD screen now.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,464 Posts
sounds like a DPF problem. my advice would be get it to a ford dealer get the problem figured out then delete the dpf to eliminate that problem ever again

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cory,

how do you delete the DPF? Is there a programmer/flash/plug in that does this? Which is the recomended method.

·
Super Moderator
31,733 Posts
Cory,

how do you delete the DPF? Is there a programmer/flash/plug in that does this? Which is the recomended method.
You need a delete pipe and programmer to do so. I recommend Spartan or SCT custom tunes

·
Registered
2,464 Posts
Cory,

i would def recommend deleteing it your milage will almost double! and power gains are crazy! i run the spartan Phalex tuner i used to run sct before they had custom tuning! its a good investment

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Delete pipe aka TEST PIPE. Gotcha.