Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 2007 f-250 6.0 power stroke that will not start. motor cranks and sounds healthy, but will not fire. when I turn the key on I hear no injector clicking. just cranks and cranks, doesn't even try to fire. anyway, I hooked up my phone scan tool app to the truck and took a screenshot of some vitals while cranking, I will attach the screenshot below. I performed an injector electrical self test with the app, it said it passed the test but oddly enough I didn't hear any of the injectors click. Also, I suspected low pressure oil pump at first because the gauge on the dash was not reading anything while cranking so I took the oil filter out and cranked it and sure enough low pressure pump is fine. the oil had lots of metal in it though. I'm thinking maybe the HPOP ate itself? not sure. I'm hoping not, but at this point, a lot is pointing towards HPOP. I am new to ford diesels especially new ones and I am also new to high pressure oil operated engines, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,543 Posts
The HPOP on the later engines is pretty reliable, so I do not think that is the source of the metal -- anything is possible tho
can you identify the type of metal? maybe pass a magnet thru some oil and see if the particles try to follow
I would drain some into a clean container -- the "bottom" oil should be some dirtier, so you can see the particles better
use a LED light and a neo magnet if you have those

ICP volts at 0.24 is basically nothing for pressure -- so there is a leak -- likely the STC fitting
however the 84% is only a commanded value -- the IPR may not be actually closing off to build pressure

an air test would be a place to start -- I prefer to do it thru the IPR port
you need the fitting a short hose and ball valve to connect to your air hose

Here is a vid that shows testing the IPR and HPOP

·