Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
And it's off. I'm new to diesels and completely clueless. Here's what happened.
We buy the new truck (F350, long bed, dually, 84,000mi) and decide to go camping, from OH across PA. It's towing fine, much better than the F150. We're towing a 7000 travel trailer. We got fuel at a service plaza and then headed back out. The on ramp was short so I put my foot in it. Boost went up to I'd say 25 to 27. Got on the freeway no problem, set the cruise (had the tow haul on) and several miles down the road the wrench light was on. The truck wouldn't down shift for the hills and had no power. I kept driving til the next exit and got off. Stopped at a truck stop to see if they could read any codes. I shut the truck off. No one had a code reader at the truck stop. Restarted the truck, wrench light was off. Truck was back to running like it had before. Up shifting and down shifting as it should. Did some research and came up with so much that it's confusing. :dunno: Here's what I found:

The code can't be read, the dealer can only read it
The turbo is toast
The accelerator pedal is about to die, tow it to the dealer NOW!
Ignore it til it comes back
Just ignore it
Don't drive it
One person was able to recreate it only on hills and if they had a lot of boost and let off the accelerator at the top of the hill.

So, what's the deal with the wrench? I'm towing home tomorrow and keeping my fingers crossed we make it. I drove the truck today minus the trailer and had no problems.

Thanks

Fred

·
Registered
2,988 Posts