Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all, I'm pretty new to diesels. " other then a 7.3 some years a ago". I recently picked up a 2004 f350 6.0 with automatic trans at a crappy car lot and lets just say I'm feeling some sting in my ring now. they aint gonna give me my $$ back so I guess its time to make some lemonade. I drove it for a for about 45min on the test drive and it ran fine. drove it home, about hour and a half drive and it ran fine. went out after it had been sitting for about 4 or 5 hours and fired it up and i sounded kinda like it was surging for a min. i went to take off and it started to stumble/fall on its face and and I saw some white-ish/grey-ish smoke and turned around after about 200yards down the road, got back to the drive way and after about 5 min at idle it seemed fine. I took off down the road again and it ran fine. injector maybe? any suggestions?

·
Registered
2005 F-350 XL 6.0
136 Posts
You have to start with a monitor. I believe the cheapest options are torque and forscan. If it had a tuner it may have the ability built in.
Begin by pulling any fault codes and post those.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You have to start with a monitor. I believe the cheapest options are torque and forscan. If it had a tuner it may have the ability built in.
Begin by pulling any fault codes and post those.
thanks for the help, what all do I need to do this and how do I tell if its had tuner installed?

·
Registered
2005 F-350 XL 6.0
136 Posts
You need something like this. There are both cheaper and more expensive ones.
You probably don't have a tuner if you don't see something on your dash.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You need something like this. There are both cheaper and more expensive ones.
You probably don't have a tuner if you don't see something on your dash.
ok thanks, is this the one you use?

·
Registered