Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2004 6.0 f350. Fuel pump issue. Just replaced the pump in the HFCM last week! Truck ran great up until I filled it up about an hour ago! Don't think my fill up had anything to do with it but I drained the water separator and fuel looked perfect...I'm an aviation mechanic and I'm used to completing fuel samples! When I turn the key on but do not start the engine, my secondary bowl fills up with fuel, I start it and runs fine for about 15-20 seconds than starts to miss, checked the fuel pump and it was not running. Checked the voltage at the wires, 10.7 volts for the first 20 seconds and then it never turns back on...what supply's the power to the fuel pump that is "bypassed" during the initial start up procedure that could cause this issue??? I'm pulling the passenger kick panel off right now to check the inertia switch! Thank you in advance! I live in Kodiak Alaska and there are bears out here! I don't want to get eaten while fixing my 6.0! :)

·
Registered
6,023 Posts
Welcome to the site! Have you done another fuel sample since you have started having troubles? Do you have a monitor to check for codes?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
We don't get the best quality fuel up here in Kodiak, I change the filters about 2-3 times a year and drain my water separator on a weekly bases! I never really get anything out but everyone in a while a bad shipment of fuel arrives and it becomes the talk of the town! I drained my fuel about a week ago now and just after this started happening. Both samples looked fine with no water or particles..aka "clear and bright".

·
Registered
6,023 Posts
do u have any kind of a monitor to pull codes with?

·
Administrator
30,937 Posts
just fyi the fuel pump comes on with the KOEO for about 20 seconds then shuts off until you crank the motor and it runs