Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First off i would like to say hello first time poster :)

Now down to business , My truck blows out huge amounts of white smoke when i start it smells very rich of diesel , it doesn't smell like coolant at all . I was told that it was the egr cooler by a diesel shop here and he said pull the egr and have a look and see if its damp in the intake is one way of diagnosing this problem , okay so i pulled the egr and its bone dry any suggestions ? could it still be the egr cooler ? or is it an injector problem Thanks for your time guys . oops id also like to say that i dont let it run long enought because it reaks so bad of fuel and the cloud of white is huge so im not sure if it ever clears up . i also bought this truck like this very cheap to try and fix it up my self so i guess it could be anything .

·
Registered
186 Posts
im no mechanic but ive talked to my local Ford diesel mechanic alottt..were like best friends now that i bought my Powerstroke and he says white smoke= an EGR cooler, the oil cooler, or maybe even the turbo! if its not the egr ur next choice would be to check the oil cooler...and u had to take the turbo off to get to the egr..how did it look?

·
Registered
186 Posts
If your talking about the Egr Cooler, it is not in the front of the engine. it is under the turbo..towards the back of the engine...i dont know what EGR part is in the front of the engine.. unless the 04 6.0 is diff, cuz thats where mine is at and i watched the mechanic take mine out. and the egr cooler is what caused the white smoke, and its not that easy to get to. u have to remove ur turbo and some other stuff to get to it..kind of a pain in the butt!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·