Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I'm new here and new to diesels and can use some help. I have a '03 F350 with the 6.0. When my truck sits for half of a day or more and I try to start it, it will turn over for a long time (around a full minute) and it pumps out tons of white smoke. Sometimes I'll hear it start to fire for a half a second and then back to cranking. Once it starts I have no problem starting it right back up. It does this during the day or at night and it is in the 80's here. I've searched the forums and haven't found any really good answers for this.

Does anyone know what is causing this or are there some definite things I can check for this? And more importantly than what is wrong, is how do I fix it or check it? And please keep in mind that I'm new to this so be careful with the accronyms and pictures of where things are located would be awesome! I had to read atleast 10 threads before I figured out what the heck HPOP meant.

Oh and the other thing is I'm taking the turbo off anyways to replace it, is there anything I should check or just go ahead and replace while I'm in there? Thanks guys!

·
Registered
670 Posts
how many miles, could it be bad injectors leaking fuel while it sits and then hard start and smokes while it burns all the extra diesel? Im not sure hopefully a tech will chime in here good luck!

·
Registered
670 Posts
Again I might be totally wrong but i would get a scaner and do a buzz test and cylinder contribution test and see if they all pass. If its a sweet smell out the exhaust i would say its egr cooler related, but it sounds more like injectors from the long crank and starts fine once its been running. keep posting and someone smart will come around.

·
Premium Member
2,584 Posts