Need work truck...have questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 60 Old 07-06-2017, 06:09 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need work truck...have questions

So I just joined up here and I'm hoping to get some help. I have a part time landscaping business that I've been doing for about 8 years now. I have gotten very very busy just this year and I'm wanting to stop using my personal truck because business is just getting a little bigger than I had imagined.

I was using my 2002 Silverado 2500HD up until last summer. I sold it and got a 2015 Silverado 2500HD with the gas engine. Just seems hard to find used Silverado's with the Duramax motors and the used Fords are a lot more abundant from what I am able to tell while searching.

I'm really not a brand loyalist in regards to wanting a work truck. I want something older that I'm not afraid if it gets dinged up or real dirty. I'd also like a diesel too. I have a 14 foot dump trailer that I hauled 12 yards of mulch in recently and my truck did not like it. Specifically, going up any inclines or getting it going from a stop. That's my main reason for wanting a diesel. Also, with wanting to look at older trucks, the diesel seems like a more reliable option than gas anyways.

So before I joined here I was researching the Fords. From what I'm able to tell from "older" trucks is this; the early 2000's 7.3 diesel is great and then it jumps to the years 2008-2010 and the 6.4 diesel. It appears I should stay far away from the 6.0? I think at this point, looking at the 7.3 is not in the equation just due to how old the rest of the truck would be. So would the 2008-2010 years be the truck to search for? Again, I'm not sure if all this is fact, just from reading at different sites online.