Hood Switch and Alarm - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion (2011-2016) General 6.7 Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 09-21-2019, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hood Switch and Alarm

I have an aftermarket alarm. It uses the factory hood switch. The alarm keeps going off and my phone notification says the hood is open. I took the switch apart and cleaned it. It looks like a simple ground switch. I tested it and all seems normal. Put it back in and same thing happened again. Last thing I have done is unplug the switch and placed a paperclip in-line so as to permanetly ground the circuit. Alarm went off again.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Mark S
redxjer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-21-2019, 09:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 364
Thanks: 10
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maybe it isnít wired to the hood switch?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Jav_eee is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-21-2019, 09:30 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 3
Thanked 141 Times in 137 Posts
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Usually an alarm system uses an added pin style switch, which is grounded when the pin is released and open when the pin is pushed

Check to see if there is another switch -- also, check to see that the hood is reliably pushing the pin on the switch and that the wires is not rubbed thru somewhere

In my defense, I was unsupervised
.
2006 F250 Lariat FX4 cclb
Torque Pro and OBDLink MX bluetooth monitor
General note:
For all those wanting a premium silicone sealer Kubota 70000-73764 is the best your gonna find. This is a hybrid gray silicone that uses solvent rather than acid to start the curing reaction, this makes it safe for aluminum and and any surface that involves coolant.
Hydro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old Today, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think it is a problem with the alarm. When I log into the app on my phone it shows the hood is open.

When I use the car stereo I have to look at the status of the hood it shows it is closed, until actually open.

I think there is a problem with the alarm wiring, not the switch. I'll run the truck by the alarm installer to fix.

Thanks, everyone.

MS
redxjer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome