LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 07-28-2017, 09:46 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Limp Mode

Hi,

I am new to Ford trucks and wondering how Limp mode works on the Fords. Does it limit the speed you can go? How far you can go? ect.

The reason I ask is I travel in some remote areas with my family and the issues with the DEF system has me a little worried, I do not want to be out in the middle of no where in the winter and not be able to make it to the dealer on limp mode.

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 07-28-2017, 04:23 PM
N.S.D.Q.

Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
It can be both, speed and distance. If you have concerns and don't want to do deletes you might not want to chance making the evening news.

Officially The Biggest Midget In The Game

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 16 Old 07-28-2017, 06:15 PM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow-poke View Post
Hi,

I am new to Ford trucks and wondering how Limp mode works on the Fords. Does it limit the speed you can go? How far you can go? ect.

The reason I ask is I travel in some remote areas with my family and the issues with the DEF system has me a little worried, I do not want to be out in the middle of no where in the winter and not be able to make it to the dealer on limp mode.

Thanks,
Oh my goodness. I was told when the dealer changes the oil he tops off the DEF fluid and that I will most likely never see the warning light. So far in 10,000 miles and 1 oil change that has been true. If it is going to keep you up at night just carry a bottle with you. The truck uses DEF very slowly so a gallon jug will get you back to civilization. And while the fluid does have a shelf life, it lasts a long time.

Ken
2013 F350 Lariat
SRW, 8' Bed
Sponsored Links