Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Validity of Bullet Proofing

2K views 15 replies 13 participants last post by  tmj690 
#1 ·
Hi,

I am quite new to the realm of powerstroke engines. I am thinking of purchasing a 2006 van that the owner says was bullet proofed. He has supplied the invoice, and it appears that it was a complete job. But some have suggested that the work was a result of a catastrophic failure at some point.

I would love to have the experts take a look and confirm that it is indeed a proper bullet proofing job. I do understand that an invoice means nothing, and that a thorough inspection is necessary to confirm anything. But I'd like to assume for purpose of this post, that the work in the invoice was correctly done.

Attached is the invoice. Any advice or comments very welcomed. Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Up top - I see "STUD KIT" under R&R HG's but i'm not entirely sure what that really means though...

I'd also like to know which HG's they used, and if all OEM parts that were replaced were actually replaced with OEM parts or aftermarket?

-jokester

#5 ·
I think a lot of good work was done to the truck. Keep in mind, no real definition of Bullet Proofing, and I would feel good calling what was done to the trick Bulletproofing. Keep in mind I got BPD products with my Bullet Proofing, and Joe Blow has BPD everything. You do have to draw a line somewhere, otherwise you'll spend in excess of $10k.

#6 ·
That is for sure brother LOL

Still beats an 800-1k a month payment....AND NO DEF!

Reactions: ZMANN
#7 ·
Even though it says FASS Fuel Pump kit, does it still have the stock filter & regulator assembly? If so, a blue spring mod needs to be done, at a minimum. You can do it yourself for around $20.
The BPD air-cooled Oil Cooler will do much better than stock. I just finished driving 150 highway miles in Texas winter temps (63 degrees, [emoji16]) and my oil and coolant never exceeded 195 degrees.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk