Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/)
-   General 6.0L Discussion (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/general-6-0l-discussion/)
-   -   Transmission Fluid Confusion??? (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/general-6-0l-discussion/1368621-transmission-fluid-confusion.html)

ChallengerRV 09-09-2019 03:56 PM

Transmission Fluid Confusion???

So sometimes using search does more harm then good. I'm still new to the 6.0 world and the 5speed automatic. I need to do a fluid change but I'm trying to figure out what to use. In searching I have found Mercron SP and LV but there are a ton of posts out there about LV destroying the trans. Some say Valvoline Max Life others say the trans will fall out as soon as you pour that stuff in :doh: So I'm looking for some good up to date information about what I should use. Aside from the ever Awesome Amsoil which is just not in the budget at this point.

Right now the only thing I'm sure of is that I want to change to the 08 pan and filter. I think that part number for the pan is 8C3Z-7A194-B otherwise I have no idea what fluid to buy or how much to give me a good change. Also do you guys use the same fluid in the T-Case as well? I like to change those together.

Sorry for stirring up what is sure to be a hornets nest but searching confused me more then anything else. There is such a thing as too much information.

Hydro 09-09-2019 04:41 PM

I posted some info from the manufactures data sheet on the various oils, a while back but that thread kinda died -- Interested in the outcome of this one

jokester00 09-09-2019 04:56 PM

A couple years ago, I ended up with Mercon SP in the trans and XL-12 in the transfer case. I'm sure it's changed by now.

Calling @voodooridr & @fordsvtparts for specs & part numbers.

-jokester

7.3lf550 09-09-2019 05:00 PM