LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 56 Old 09-14-2018, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What to do with a 2003

Howdy, newbie here.
So One of our work trucks wen to the shop, they stated that the coolant reservoir was pressurized and the head gaskets were going. Took it to another shop and they said to replace the engine, same problem. We decided to buy a new rig as we do not need the big truck, so My boss gave it to me!

It is a 2003 F350 Super duty 200,000 miles on it. it is running fine now, but we are told the head gaskets will go at any time. I would like to use it as a farm truck, for hay, feed, gravel, tow my boat once in a while, maybe put 5,000 miles a year on it.

Should I have the heads redone, buy a used engine and have a mechanic slap it in there, etc. I do not want to spend 15K for a new engine, I have 2 other trucks, I just want to make it as reliable as possible and try to get 80-100K miles out of it.
any Ideas?
thank you

Last edited by farmboypeter; 09-14-2018 at 04:24 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 Old 09-15-2018, 03:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Put a t pressure gage on the degass pressure line that runs to radiator and drive it . if if builds pressure quickly when you step on it than its def. Thr head gasket. If you baby it and drive easy not towing much it could be a small leak and drivable
post #3 of 56 Old 09-15-2018, 07:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
cummins 12valve swap. cheap and easy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 56 Old 09-15-2018, 08:40 AM

Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
How do you know it is even pressurizing? The caps are known to leak and the degas bottle sealing surface for the cap has been known to warp or get nicks. You can sand the sealing surface smooth and flat and even get a new cap. Still, you need proof as to what is going on.